Guidance Department

The Guidance Department also known as Pupil Personnel Services offers a comprehensive support program to assist the student in all aspects of student life and to enhance opportunities for personal, educational and career development. Students are assigned a guidance counselor when they enter in Grade 9. This guidance counselor will remain with the student throughout their high school career until graduation.

Students and parents will meet with their guidance counselor at least once each term with the purpose of assessing their academic progress to date and plan for the progression of courses for the following terms. Counselors are also available to meet with students if an individual problem or concern arises. Students should make an appointment to see their counselor if the need arises. Parents are encouraged to take an active part in their child’s academic career and are welcome to meet with the counselors to discuss their child’s progress. Parents are asked to call (718) 297-6580 x 1380 to make an appointment.

Important Information | Graduation Requirements | Transcript Requests


Ms. Gina Paulson
Asst. Principal/Pupil Personnel Services
Room 136 • Ext. 1365
gpaulson@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Melissa Vargas
9th grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 1D,1G, 1W, 1M, 1R, 1C, 1L, 1Z and 7Z)
mwilliams42@schools.nyc.gov

 

Mr. Frank Wilbeck
9th grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 1A, 1B, 1F, 1I, 1N, 1Y and official class 100)
Room 138 • Ext. 1385
fwilbeck@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Renita Jackson
10th grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 0A, 0B, 0F, 0I, 0N, 0Y, 6 and official class 200)
Room 138
rjackso@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Kamlesh Kaur
10th grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 0D, 0G, 0W, 0M, 0R, 0C, 0L, 0Z and 7Y)
Room 138
kkaur@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Kristin Bellomo
11th grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 9A, 9B, 9F, 9I, 9N, 9Y, and official class 300)
Room 138 • Ext. 1382
kbellomo@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Catherine Spano
11th grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 9V, 9D, 9W, 9M, 9R, 9C, 9L and 9)Z
Room 138 • Ext. 1381
cspano@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Aileen Abramowitz
12th Grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 8V, 8G, 8W, 8M, 8R, 8C, and official class 8ZL, 5th and 6th year ISS students beginning with 7 or 6)
Room 138 • Ext. 1388
aabramowitz@schools.nyc.gov

Ms. Iris Rosario
12th grade Guidance Counselor
(official classes beginning with 8A, 8B, 8F, 8I, 8N, and official class 400)
Room 138 • Ext. 1387
irosari2@schools.nyc.gov


Ms. Amanda Engel
College Counselor
College and Career Center website
Room 114B • Ext. 1144
aengel5@schools.nyc.gov